Current Affair

ICC World Cup 2023 Points Table: India Claims No. 1 Spot After Defeating New Zealand

The ICC World Cup 2023 Points Table is a real-time representation of the performance of each participating team in the tournament. It is a dynamic document that is updated after each match to reflect the latest standings.

Here is the updated ICC ODI World Cup 2023 point table after yesterday’s win:

TeamsMatchesWonLost  Tied  PtsNRR 
India 550010+1.353
New Zealand54108+1.481
South Africa43106+2.212
Australia     42204-0.193
Bangladesh 41302-0.784
Sri Lanka    41302-1.048
England      41302-1.248

In the ICC World Cup, points are awarded based on the outcome of each match. The system is as follows:

  • Win: When a team wins a match, they earn 2 points.
  • Tie or No Result: In the case of a tied match or a no result, both teams are awarded 1 point each.
  • Loss: A losing team receives 0 points.

The opening match of the ICC World Cup 2023 was between champion England and 2019 losing finalist New Zealand on October 5 in Ahmedabad.

Ten teams will compete in the 50-over tournament, and each team will play every other team once in a round-robin group stage. The top four teams in the points standings after the 45 group stage contests advance to the semifinals, which take place on November 15 and 16. On November 19, the championship game will be held in Ahmedabad.

After yesterday’s match, India vs. New Zealand, India took the top spot in the table by defeating the Kiwis by four wickets, ending a 20-year curse in which India had never defeated New Zealand in an ICC match. Team India’s captain, Virat Kohli, was the architect of the chase and played an innings of 95 runs in 104 balls.

3 Things to know about the match

  • Mohammad Shami, a pacer for the Indian team, was selected as the Man of the Match.
  • In the IND vs. NZ CWC 2023 game, Mohammad Shami chose a fifer.
  • The only unbeaten team in the 2023 ODI World Cup is Team India so far.

Team India won the ODI World Cup Match in 2023 for the Fifth Time in a Row

ODI World Cup

The New Zealand cricket team struggled to get going after choosing to bat first and was at one point at 19/2. Rachin Ravindra and Daryl Michell, who together scored 159 runs, helped their team escape trouble. Mitchell continued to score runs, eventually reaching a century, and batted 130 runs on 127 balls. In contrast, Ravindra reached another half-century at the CWC in 2023, scoring 75 runs off 87 balls.

After the departure of Rachin Ravindra, it didn’t take much time for the Indian pacer to restrict New Zealand, and at last, they were bundled with a score of 273 runs. Pacer Mohmmad Shami anchored India’s comeback and picked up his second fifer in the ODI World Cup.

Chasing the target, the Indian team got off to a steady start as openers Rohit Sharma and Shubham Gill added 71 runs off 67 balls. However, Rohit and Gill went back to the dressing room. The Indian team struggled in the middle overs and lost the wickets of Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, and KL Rahul in quick succession.

Major Milestone Missed by Virat Kohli

After the loss of five wickets, all the onus was on the captain of the Indian team, who played as per expectations and guided his team to yet another victory. The Indian team defeated New Zealand in the ICC tournament after a gap of 20 years. But Kohli missed out on his 49th ODI century as he was dismissed for 95 off 104 balls

Kohli was eyeing Sachin Tendulkar’s record, who has the highest number of centuries in ODI cricket. Despite coming closer to the victory, Virat Kohli couldn’t get his century as Matt Henry removed him.

A Stellar Finish

At the end of the game, Ravindra Jadeja scored an unbeaten 39 runs off 44 balls. Earlier, Rohit Sharma opened the scoring with a quickfire 46 off 40 balls. India has now climbed to the top of the ODI World Cup 2023 points table with this outstanding victory. India is currently the only unbeaten team in this competition. On October 29, the team will play England in their next game.

Winning Journey of India in ICC World Cup 2023

Till now, India has won all 5 matches that the team played against Australia, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and New Zealand, respectively. Here are the highlights of all the matches:

India vs Australia

In a thrilling ICC World Cup 2023 encounter, India triumphed over Australia at Chepauk, Chennai. Opting to bat first after winning the toss, Australia posted a total of 199 runs.

The Indian bowlers delivered a stellar performance, restricting the Aussies. However, India faced early adversity, losing three wickets with only two runs on the board. After that Virat Kohli (85) and KL Rahul (97*) crafted a remarkable partnership, steering India to victory in 41.2 overs. This impressive win marked a strong start for both teams in the tournament.

India vs Afghanistan

In a dominating performance, India extended their winning streak with a comprehensive eight-wicket victory over Afghanistan in the World Cup. The target of 273 runs was chased down convincingly in just 35 overs.

Rohit Sharma was the standout performer, going on a six-hit spree and allowing an impressive 131 runs in 84 balls. His remarkable innings also earned him the record for the most centuries in World Cup history.

Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, and Shreyas Iyer contributed effectively to the chase, with Rohit and Ishan setting the stage with a formidable 156-run opening partnership.

India vs Pakistan

India clinched a resounding 7-wicket victory over arch-rivals Pakistan in the ICC World Cup 2023. Shreyas Iyer’s powerful boundary sealed his half-century and sealed India’s eighth World Cup triumph, toppling New Zealand from the tournament’s pinnacle.

The match began with Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill delivering an onslaught of boundaries, setting a solid foundation for the 192-run chase. Rohit Sharma led the run chase with a stellar 85 but was dismissed just short of his century by Shaheen Afridi. Virat Kohli, partnering with Sharma, also made significant contributions, ensuring a memorable victory for India.

India vs Bangladesh

India continued their impressive World Cup run with a commanding 7-wicket victory over Bangladesh at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune. Bangladesh won the toss and set a target of 257 runs after scoring 256 for 8 in their 50 overs. In response, India displayed their batting Lineup prowess, with Virat Kohli notching up his 48th ODI century. Shubman Gill and Rohit Sharma also contributed with half-centuries. Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, and Ravindra Jadeja shone with the ball, each claiming two wickets. Kohli’s unbeaten 103 earned him Player of the Match honors.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button